Strength for the Journey

Relying on God in our strange trip with Mitochondrial Disease

I’ve gotta let it shine….

With everything happening in the world recently, it’s been hard to focus on any one thing to blog about.

The news just bombards us moment by moment, reminding me who the real “Prince of this World” is; that being the Prince of Darkness.

Everywhere I turn I see dark acts committed by people whose motives I can’t even begin to understand.  Who wakes up one day thinking “Alright, teeth brushed, shower done; let’s go bomb a marathon!”?  Darkness.

People drawn to murder others with knives, or guns, or bombs.  One person jealous of another.  The next motive greed.  Children abused,  some sold into sexual slavery.  Darkness.

It can make my heart so heavy.  It makes me want to grab my children and hide under the covers.  But I can’t.

This little light of mine,
I’ve gotta let it shine….
Let it shine, all the time, let it shine.

Think about it:  on a dark night, what do you notice?  The lights.

In the midst of all of this chaos, I have to do my best to be a shining light, not hiding.

You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.
Matthew 5:14-16

I can’t claim to understand all that is happening.  I only know that I must do what I can to spread the light.

But what can I do?  What can you do?

love your kids
hold the door open for someone
donate blood
buy someone coffee
know your neighbor
send a card to someone
make a phone call
pray
pray
PRAY

So tomorrow, I hope to return with a little humor.  Humor tends to be my way of dealing with tragedies.  In doing so, I hope that others can see HIS light shining through the darkness.  ‘Let there be light’ indeed.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “I’ve gotta let it shine….

  1. It has been hard to find the light. But I take heart in the fact that there were more people running into the massacre to help than those who ran away.

Leave a Reply

