Strength for the Journey

Relying on God in our strange trip with Mitochondrial Disease

Happy Valentine’s Day

This week one of Mama Kat‘s prompts was to write about a memorable Valentine’s day.  My most memorable one was eleven years ago.

Tom and I had been dating for just over two years.  I was getting anxious (is this going anywhere????)

We had talked marriage, and it seemed to be a matter of timing.  I just wasn’t sure if he would really make the move.  After all, I’m six years older than he is.  Would that make a difference?

A quiet Valentine’s Day had been planned.  Tom came over to my apartment and fixed dinner; chicken cordon bleu… from scratch. 🙂  (have I mentioned what a great cook my husband is?)  He had brought me a couple of small gifts, and I had something for him.

We finished dinner and went to the living room to watch a movie…. or so I thought.

We were just getting the movie going when Tom got up, went to the kitchen and asked if I wanted some sherbet for dessert.  I said sure, and heard the bowls clinking as he prepared our treat.

When he walked back into the room I glanced over, then did a double take as he got down on one knee.  He held a bowl, but the bowl held no sherbet.  Instead, there was an open ring box, and I listened to Tom ask me if I would make him the happiest man in the world and marry him.  I remember looking from his face to the ring, from his face to the ring, trying to let it sink in what was happening. Of course I said yes. 😉

He had totally caught me by surprise because Valentine’s Day was cliche, and he made it a point to not be cliche.  If anything I had thought he might propose on April Fool’s day, in line with his prankish nature.

I’ll never forget the anxious look on his face as he knelt there.  I found out later that he had been showing the ring to people at church the night before:  literally right behind my back.  He had carried the ring on his person from the time he bought it so that nothing would happen to it.  My parents also told me that he had come and talked to my dad a few days before to “ask permission.”

I could never have guessed all of the things life would bring our way.  Tom has proven himself time and again to be a man who seeks God’s will and stays faithful to his promises.

God places choices in front of us each day.  We are given the free will to do as we choose; for good or for bad.

So that day in February I was faced with a choice.

And I’m so glad I said ‘yes.’

I love you Tom!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Happy Valentine’s Day

  1. What a beautiful tribute to beautiful memory. Happy anniversary of your engagement.

  2. I love ushy gushy stories like that. Sounds like you have a keeper ;).

    http://www.holdingthedistaff.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

