Strength for the Journey

Relying on God in our strange trip with Mitochondrial Disease

Did you really just say that?

Someone said something recently that both irritated me, and made me think.  He said that the reason he didn’t get sick was because God doesn’t send sickness and he only accepts things from God, and since sickness is not from God, he doesn’t accept it and he doesn’t get sick.

HUH??

Nowhere in my Bible do I read that believers will be illness free if they have perfect faith.  What an easy way this would be to judge people, and how very like the Pharisees of Jesus’ time.

We live in a fallen world.  I don’t understand why some things happen, and I never will.  Do I believe that God sends illness to us to test us?  No.  I do believe, however that how we react to the unfairness of life will reflect our heart and our spiritual state.  I will never claim to understand the mind of God, His ways are not my ways.  What I do know is that I have had a choice, to let my experience make me better or bitter.

I deal with illness on a daily basis, both my own, and that of others.  I fight depression and God has allowed me to find the right medicine to treat my illness.  My daughter has Mitochondrial Disease and is severely disabled as a result of what it has done to her body.  For someone to say that an illness that my daughter was born with is somehow a result of not being right with God, I think, really??  Did you really just say that?

John chapter 9 addresses this:

As he went along, he saw a man blind from birth. His disciples asked him, “Rabbi, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he was born blind?”

“Neither this man nor his parents sinned,” said Jesus, “but this happened so that the works of God might be displayed in him.

 

Whenever I become weary of taking care of Erin’s needs, I think of what Jesus said in Matthew chapter 25:

‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

Indeed, those as needy as Erin are among ‘the least of these.’  God is not punishing me or her with her illness.  It is simply one of those things that happens because we live in an imperfect world.

God wants good things for us, so why do bad things happen?  I don’t know.  People far smarter than me have struggled with this question.  What I do know is that physical illness is not, nor ever has been an indication that a person is spiritually weak.  To say otherwise is to deny what God said to Isaiah:

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord.

Let us do what we can to help those struggling with illness without questioning their spiritual fitness.

PS: Yesterday my blog got more hits than ever before.  Thanks to those who visited!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Did you really just say that?

  1. What the heck? I would have punched him. Very christian like of me, no?

Leave a Reply

