Strength for the Journey

Relying on God in our strange trip with Mitochondrial Disease

An open letter to men

Dear men,

Yes, you there.  I’m talking to you.  I just thought I’d let you know that you are awesome.

I know that bashing men seems like the thing to do these days…. “Oh. My. Word. He. Has. No. Clue.”

Talking heads showcase deadbeat dads who sleep around and then refuse responsibility for their children.  Comedies make light of masculine traits and paint men as  clueless idiots.  Fathers never know best anymore, that’s too old fashioned.

Men are just overgrown boys who want to play (okay, maybe that one has a ring of truth 😉

But when I look around, I see men who love their wives.  Men who honor their commitments, change diapers and do dishes.  I see strong men who aren’t afraid to cry.  Men who are smart enough to keep their mouth shut when a woman is venting her emotions.

Are men different from women?  Yes!  And thank God for that!  We are fearfully and wonderfully made, and that is a blessing.

So that’s all, I just wanted all of you to know that there is at least one woman out here who knows that underneath that beard and rough exterior, there beats the strong heart of a Godly man.

This post is a link-up to:

workshop-button-1

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “An open letter to men

  1. Oh my goodness! THANK YOU!!! I am so tired of seeing all of these commercials, etc where the women know all only after the husbands make complete fools of themselves.

    My husband is amazing, smart, intelligent, honest, works hard, great father, great friend, great husband, great, great, great.

    Love this letter!!!!!!!

  2. I’m not sure why man-bashing is all the rage. There are good ones and bad, just like everyone else. You painted a beautiful picture. M

  3. angela haislip on said:

    I’m with Kate on this one. My husband is putting himself through grad school while letting me be a stay at home mom. He come home, plays with his kids, helps with dinner, gives them baths every single night and still let’s me go out every now and then. He is amazing and I am so proud of him. After almost 5 years of marriage he is still the smartest, funniest, sexiest person I have ever met.

  4. What a beautiful post!
    Here I automatically jumped to thinking of all the things that drive me crazy about my husband (and opted not to write the post), but there is so much more that I love. His strength. The fact that he tries to be the best dad he can be. That he brings home surprises sometimes…

    Love your letter.

  5. Terrific! great tribute to men!

  6. It is nice to see positive comments about men!

Leave a Reply

