Strength for the Journey

Relying on God in our strange trip with Mitochondrial Disease

I remember

I remember
an autumn day not unlike today.
People going off to work,
not knowing they wouldn’t come home.

I remember
the black smoke rising
against the turquoise sky
polluting our national security.

I remember
fear, grief, confusion, shock.
Who did this? Why?
Tears falling under silent skies.

I remember
mourning together,
joining together,
working together.

I remember
the best in people
as together we faced the unthinkable
in those next few weeks.

So many things have changed
since that bright September morning.
Have we forgotten who we were on
September twelfth?

I remember.
Do you?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

