Strength for the Journey

Relying on God in our strange trip with Mitochondrial Disease

Well, I guess that wasn’t it….

The job I interviewed for, and that I thought was a great fit for my skills and the needs of my family turned out to not be God’s plan for me.  I’m disappointed and frustrated, but I know that God has a plan.

Have you ever wished that God would just throw a big, ole flashing sign in your face saying “MY WILL… THIS WAY –>>” ?

I know I have!  I remember years ago, when I was still single.  I prayed about a new guy who had come to our church.  I really wanted a relationship, so I asked God to make His will perfectly clear regarding this young man and myself.  Within two weeks he had moved to Texas.  I’d say God made himself pretty clear! 🙂

God hasn’t always responded that clearly to me, but I remain confident that he has responded, and that he has a plan.

In James chapter one it says:

Consider it all joy, my brethren, when you encounter
various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith
produces endurance.

I have to confess that I have not always considered my trials a joy.  It’s only when I look back that I can see God’s work in preparing me for different things.  I’ve had to laugh when people have called me strong, because I know that the strength is certainly not mine!  You can find the source of my strength in 2 Corinthians chapter 4:

But we have this treasure in jars of clay
to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us.
We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed….

As the old hymn goes, “Many things about tomorrow, I don’t seem to understand.  But I know who holds tomorrow, and I know who holds my hand.”

May God bless us all as he continues to give us strength for the journey…

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Well, I guess that wasn’t it….

  1. We can be such impatient people in today’s “instant gratification” society. You are doing the right things though and that is admirable. You talk about wanting a big neon sign telling us which way He wants us to go and I can very much relate. It’s a frustrating feeling but that is more than likely His way of telling us to, “Be still and know that I am God.” Psalm 46:10. This life isn’t on our terms and the sooner we on this Earth accept that, the better off this world will be. I’ll be praying for you Dawn.

  2. I know what you mean, Dawn. Sometimes I wish God would send me a personal message saying, keep up the good work, Karen. Your children will come to the Lord soon. Sorry the job didn’t pan out. We’ll keep praying for you.

Leave a Reply

