Strength for the Journey

Relying on God in our strange trip with Mitochondrial Disease

Which way do I go?

Here lately I have felt pulled in different directions, and it’s been hard to blog.

Part of me would love to be able to stay home with the kids and not have to work outside the home.  The other part of me gets satisfaction from the work I do helping children with dyslexia, and wants to have that time away from home working: and I won’t lie, the money is a big deal too.  Not working full time has been really, really hard when it comes time to pay the bills.

More than once I’ve had to swallow my pride and ask for some help.

I hate that.

Asking for help.

I never mind giving it, but I hate to be on the receiving end.

I know God is using this time to teach me something.

I read these words that challenge me; “Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters,whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.”  (James 1:2-3)

One thing I have learned is how spoiled I am by all of my modern conveniences.  I have so much that I take for granted.  So many around the world are happy with far less than I have.  I wish I had more than one bathroom in my house.  How many millions don’t even have indoor plumbing?  I wish we had a little larger house.  Yet, in some places my living room is the entire dwelling for a family.  I need to be more thankful of my blessings, even when I do find another job.

Speaking of that, I interviewed for a job this week.  I would appreciate your prayers about it.  I am praying that whatever is best for my family is what happens.  This job appears to be a wonderful fit for my skills and my family’s needs.  If I get it, I will share more.  But as good as the fit appears to me, God knows things that I don’t, and He knows what is best for my family.  If this job isn’t what God sees that my family needs, then I pray that he will give us the strength and ability to persevere.

I’m so glad this world is not my home!  I can hardly wait to get to heaven where I know my ‘mortgage payment’ has already been paid, and I’ll never have to pay a bill for the Light.  I can cast aside these worldly cares, and I’ll finally get to hear all of the things my daughter Erin has wanted to tell me.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Which way do I go?

  1. Sherry on said:

    So touched by your comments. There is a lot I can connect with. Its funny how when you need a message, God sends a messager, and just through not being able to sleep and scrolling through a social media I came upon his comfort through you! Blessings!

  2. Eileen on said:

    I understand the difficulty in having to ask for help. Thankfully, I’ve had people (family) that have been more than willing to help. You and your family are amazing! I will be praying that you find just the right job.

Leave a Reply

