Strength for the Journey

Relying on God in our strange trip with Mitochondrial Disease

A letter to my future teen…..

(This blog in response to Mama Kat’s Writers’ Workshop)

Dear Tracey,

I love you so much, but I dread your teenage years.  I’m hoping that you will prove me wrong, but your penchant for drama has me worried.  You have a giving spirit, a sweet nature, and the ability to whine that sets my teeth on edge.  You are a beautiful girl, and so far you don’t seem self conscious.  Sometimes I cringe at the outfits you pick out, but as long as they are modest and appropriate to the weather, I pick my battles.  I pray that as your body begins to change, (and oh how the thought of that makes me nauseated!), that you will be able to maintain your confidence without becoming conceited.  You are so smart that you can do just about anything you set your mind to.  Above all, I hope you will continue to love your church family as much as you do now, and continue to sing our God’s praises as freely as you do.  I pray that you will grow in the grace of our Lord and develop a strong relationship with the one Rock who will see you through all of the rough times in life.  My precious girl, I love you so much and pray that I have the strength to not strangle you when you tell me you hate me or rail against my authority in the years to come.  Sweet girl, you are only six now, but all too soon you will be sixteen.  Oh how time flies!

Love,  Mommy

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

