Strength for the Journey

Relying on God in our strange trip with Mitochondrial Disease

What a year!

As I sit here and reflect on the year that was 2011, I think of what a roller coaster year it has been for my family.  God has been good to us, even in the midst of trials.

We started out on a high…. Thomas Ivor Mathias III made his entrance 10 days ahead of schedule on January 3rd, and started our new year off with a bang.  He has brought such joy to our family with his sunny disposition and penchant for getting into everything.

Tom was promoted to a new position at work, and he welcomed the change in his responsibilities.  Now he gets to be a tech geek at work as well as at home 😉

The year also saw Tracey’s graduation from pre-school and the  excitement of starting kindergarten.

A big downside to our year was when I lost my job in June.  I searched and searched for a new job.  Filled out countless applications.  Wasted my kids’ summer vacation worrying about how we were going to survive on one income.  I finally quit looking and started enjoying my new role.

I did find part time work in the evenings.  I work with dyslexic students at Walborn Academy.  I provide one on one language therapy that helps dyslexic students crack the code of written English.  I had been doing this on a much smaller scale at the Masonic Learning Center, where I received my training in 2004.  When this center closed this year, due to a lack of funding, I was offered a new position at Walborn Academy.  I’m so excited that I get to continue my work with this underserved population!

Erin continues to make slow, but sure progress.  She is starting to make moves towards crawling, as well as walking with her walker.   Even though she remains non-verbal, she is much more interested in what is around her and much more intentional about letting us know her needs.  I think young master Thomas can take some credit for this.  By getting into her space and taking toys from her, Thomas has awakened new skills in Erin such as fighting back, and paying more attention to who is near her.

All in all, I have to say that this has been a pretty good year for us.  Even though we are down to one income, we are not nearly as bad off as I thought we would be.  God is wondrous in his provisions.  He continues to bless us with good health and steady progress for Erin.  He blessed us with a healthy son, and continued health and growth for Tracey.  He has blessed our marriage, keeping us strong in the face of adversity.  He has blessed us with a loving family and awesome church family.

As I look to the new year, I look forward to what God will bring our way.  His ways are not our ways, our thoughts are not his thoughts. We serve an awesome God who sees beyond our human limitations.

May God bless each of you who reads this in 2012 and beyond.  May you experience the love of God and his providence in new and fantastic ways.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

