Strength for the Journey

Relying on God in our strange trip with Mitochondrial Disease

Thankful

I realize that this is a week late, but last week I was too busy enjoying all of my family who had come in from parts south!

It’s also true that some of the things I’m thankful for happened last week.

I’m so thankful for my family.  I have always thought this, but it particularly hits home when life reaches up to slap you, and your realize your family is there to help you slap back.

Just for the record, I have an awesome husband.  When I think of the things we’ve been through, his strength amazes me.  He’s also an amazing dad.  I couldn’t ask for a better father for my children.  He’s not above changing a diaper or doing the dishes, and he’s been so supportive of me in all things.  He loves his kids, even when they drive him crazy.  Some men would have walked out on a disabled child.  Divorce rates among couples with disabled children are much higher than the general population.  But he not only stuck around, he hasn’t ignored Erin either.  He’s developed a bond with her just like our other kids.  He’s one in a million.  He’s not perfect, but he’s perfect for me, and I’m so thankful to have him.

My kids are pretty awesome too.  Tracey is a great big sister, and a great help.  She may have her moments of attitude, but she really has a heart of gold.  Erin is a little sweetie who is making progress all the time, and I know one of these days she’s going to surprise me by taking some steps.  Then there’s Thomas.  Whoo boy!  That child does not stop!  Quick with a smile, he is such a joy, and he also keeps me on my toes. 😉

I’m also thankful for nieces and nephews who aren’t above entertaining their much younger cousins.  Especially Erin.  She’s not easy to connect with.  She is nonverbal, and doesn’t make good eye contact, but she’s in there.   She’ll often get overwhelmed by too many people and need some time to herself, but the older cousins made the effort to make sure she was included.  It was so good to see what awesome people they are :).

I am so unbelievably blessed.  I have a home to live in, food to eat, family that loves me.  I may not have some of the ‘things’ that I would like.  I may not have as much in the bank as some others, but I don’t covet what they have.  I don’t think their wealth needs to be ‘redistributed’ to me.  If anything, I wish other people could experience the blessings that I have, because above all, I am thankful that God sent his son.  Jesus makes it possible for me to be adopted into the family of God.  A daughter of the king is what I am.

And THAT is something to be thankful for.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Thankful

  1. Eileen on said:

    Beautiful! It’s so easy to get caught up in what we don’t have and what we want, but God does give us everything we need. We can tackle anything this life throws at us with a strong family and strong faith. You have been an inspiration to others (me included). God bless you and your family!

Leave a Reply

