Strength for the Journey

Relying on God in our strange trip with Mitochondrial Disease

Blast from the Past…

While cleaning out some old papers, I ran across a poem that I found probably 10 years or more ago.  As I read it, I thought how much truer it is today than it was then.  I wish I could claim authorship:

Altered Plans

I’ve found that God has altered plans
I made first starting out,
and though it’s clear that He knows best
there have been times of doubt.

The work I do is not the work
I really planned on doing.
And many people in my life
weren’t always of my choosing.

I know for sure that it is true,
God has a plan for me.
The paths He’s led me down in life
have always been the key
to lessons learned, and growing
that I would not have done,
the heartaches and the happiness,
the battles fought and won.

Looking back on where I’ve been
I’ve realized one thing:
Life isn’t something that you plan,
it’s accepting what it brings.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

