Strength for the Journey

Relying on God in our strange trip with Mitochondrial Disease

Again?

I really have to get better about this! Not posting for a month is not what I had in mind when I started blogging.

So I thought I would spend a few moments on a topic that has been on my mind lately… that of being an ‘at home’ mom. I say ‘at home’ because I’m always running somewhere with the kids!

I never thought I wanted to be one. I thought that working outside the home was going to be the natural course of things, because it is so difficult to make it on one income. Now that we have three children, the full impact of the cost of childcare has really hit home. Not only the financial cost, but the emotional cost as well.

God has entrusted me and my husband with three precious souls. One of whom has special needs that have required a lot of extra time for therapies and doctor visits. The stress of working full time under those conditions was probably a little greater than I realized until I wasn’t working full time anymore.

Working at a school for the past several years and having the summers off, I would use that time to get caught up on some things. But I really thought that being home every single day would drive me crazy. I’ve been surprised at how much more relaxed I have been. I periodically get stressed over money, but overall I’ve been a whole lot less stressed.

Some of this has to do with the fact that I can now keep up with laundry and other things around the house that tended to be neglected until the weekends because we both were too busy/exhausted to take care of some things during the week.

God is using this time. I’m learning things about myself, my marriage, my kids.

As the saying goes, “I don’t know what the future holds, but I know who holds the future.”

So I can face that future with peace in my heart, knowing that He will always be with us to supply our needs and give us strength 🙂

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Again?

  1. Yeah, being a stay at home mom has lots of blessings. Right now I am trying to remember some of them. It seems like it was all in vain at this point. Shoulda just put them in school, got a job, and conformed to the standards of the world. Right now I find it hard to see any positive influence I have had in my children’s lives.

  2. I am glad you are able to enjoy being “home” with your kids! It is a blessing.

Leave a Reply

