Strength for the Journey

Relying on God in our strange trip with Mitochondrial Disease

What’s going on?

Well, it’s been quite a while since I last posted, and I thought I’d try to catch up.

There have been a lot of things going on, both in our lives and in my mind.

Along with all of the typical getting back to school schedule changes, I have been dealing with a major change in my life.  For the first time since graduating from college, I have found myself unemployed.  I’ve been able to find part-time employment, but any full time opportunities have offered salaries that would have barely covered childcare; and why would I want to work full time for the sole purpose of paying someone else to watch my children?

I believe this comes down to a case of “be careful what you pray for.”

Earlier this year I had been praying that God would help me find a way to work from home, or at least with a more flexible schedule.  A lot of this is because of Erin.  She has so many extra needs and I felt like I wasn’t doing my best by her.  It also relates to my parents’ growing older.  My mom has watched our kids when they were very small, but it has become more difficult for her to keep up… and Thomas is quite a handful right now.  He’s a very busy almost 9-month old!

When I prayed this prayer, unemployment was not what I had in mind.

I spent the first few months frantically applying for nearly every job I saw.  As I got rejection after rejection, I began to rethink my situation.  Maybe God was trying to tell me to stay home for a while.  After all, we are currently saving around $500/month in childcare costs… and that’s just for the girls.  Mom had been watching Thomas.

So I continue to look, but not with the frantic panic I did before.  Even though I’m not getting unemployment benefits (that’s a long story…) we are getting by.  Mostly.

My part time job brings in needed funds, and I also substitute at the childcare that the girls used to attend.  Family and friends have been good to us.  God is faithful.

I’m looking into selling Pampered Chef again, and this time not spending all of my profits on products 😉

Time will tell what God has in mind for my future employment, but for now, I’ve decided to enjoy my time at home and be thankful that He continues to give me strength for the journey….

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

