Strength for the Journey

Relying on God in our strange trip with Mitochondrial Disease

Let’s try something….

I got tired of Tracey’s incessant whining the other day.  So I did some thinking, some praying and decided to try some scripture on her.

We sat down on the couch yesterday and had a talk.  I turned to Philippians and read to her from chapter two, verse 14.

Do everything without complaining or arguing.

We talked about how sometimes I might complain, or daddy might complain, and how we all needed to do better about not complaining.  I emphasized that this was not me, but GOD who has this expectation.  We read on in verse 15 where it talks about why we aren’t supposed to complain and argue:  so that we can be a good example to others.  We talked about how she is an example for her younger sister and brother and how daddy and I are examples for her and others.

She seemed to get it.  For the rest of the day whenever she started to complain or argue with me about something, I quoted the scripture to her.  She would sigh, or stomp, but she would DO AS I HAD ASKED!  I know that this isn’t going to change her behavior overnight, but I believe that giving her scripture to hang onto is much better than me yelling at her and getting angry about her whining.

It just proves to me that “All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness.” (2 Timothy 3:16)

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Let’s try something….

  1. Eileen on said:

    Great idea! I’m going to have to use that with Samantha. And I think I may need to pay attention to scripture myself in regards to complaining.

Leave a Reply

