Strength for the Journey

Relying on God in our strange trip with Mitochondrial Disease

Finally, answers

So Erin had her eye surgery and muscle biopsy in April 2010.  And we wait.  Again.

Follow up to the eye surgeon, and he was VERY happy with the outcome.

Summer comes and goes, and still we wait for the results.

Finally, in September, we get the call we’ve been waiting on for 2 1/2 years.  We have a diagnosis.  We have a reason for Erin’s multitude of seemingly disconnected symptoms.

Mitochondrial Disease.

It was such a relief to finally get a name.  To have a reason for her delays.  To be able to have something tell people rude enough to ask “what’s wrong with her?” (and yes, that has happened to me)

Having a name for what has devastated my daughter does not change how much I love her,  it just helps me have more respect for the strength she has to face each day.

My little angel.  My forever E-baby…

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Finally, answers

  1. I’ve had people ask me that too…and it hurts. She is beautiful and I’m glad (for your peace of mind) that you got a diagnosis.

Leave a Reply

